Sending effective brochures and letters

Probably the most cost-effective marketing method, direct mail is strongly recommended to SMEs with a limited budget.

Sending letters by mail is one of the most effective and cost-effective marketing methods. If an SME’s budget is limited, the company should focus its efforts on sending letters rather than publishing ads in newspapers, on TV or on the street.

A perfect letter

A letter can take the form of a formal letter or a simple flyer. Everything depends on the nature of both the company and the document. The bigger the offering, the more formal it should be. For a customer to read and appreciate a letter, it should contain:

  • An exceptional offer. Consumers receive a lot of advertising in the mail. The customer should understand that the SME’s letter is unique. For example, a store selling lawnmowers can offer a 50% discount on these products.
  • A clear offer. The customer should understand the nature of the offer in seven to nine words at the most.
  • A timeframe. The offer should be limited in time to encourage the consumer to take advantage of it immediately.
  • A personalized address. The letter should feature the addressee’s name. Consumers are not taken in by letters addressed to “a loyal customer” or to a “dear friend”—they will throw them away without reading them.
  • A free reply option. The customer should be able to benefit from the offer without having to buy stamps or pay to make a call. Ideally, the letter should include a reply slip with their address pre-printed and a postage-paid envelope addressed to the company. To minimize postage, the entrepreneur can get discounts from the post office for prior sorting.

The success of a direct mail campaign depends on the quality of your address book. Companies are advised to create a list of contacts to whom letters or flyers are to be sent. A company can ask its customers to provide their addresses. It is also possible to request an address list from a chamber of commerce, or buy one from an advertising agency or direct mail company. Direct mail companies have hundreds of thousands of addresses, which can be selected depending on your business sector and geographic location.

Managing responses

An SME should be capable of responding promptly to customers interested in the promotion. The company absolutely has to supply the promised service or item to the customer. In the past, the success of certain offers has forced some companies to retract them. This has damaged the reputation of these companies.

An effective brochure

A brochure provides a snapshot of your company. It can present the company as a whole, a product, a service or a range of items in particular, and may take the form of a small booklet or simple flyer. SMEs whose customers do not use the web or do not read newspapers should produce a brochure.

A good brochure comprises the following:

  • A title and subtitle that summarize the company's activities.
  • Strong clear statements that highlight the SME’s strengths.
  • Customer reviews that highlight the quality of the company’s products and services.
  • Images illustrating the work done by the SME.
  • A call to action which speaks to the customer. The message should encourage the consumer to buy the services presented in the brochure.

If the SME has an employee with basic graphic design skills, a brochure can be created in-house. However, if the objective is to design a professional brochure for large-scale distribution, companies are advised to use the services of an advertising agency or graphic designer.

Source: Small Business Marketing Kit for Dummies, Barbara Findlay Schenck, John Wiley & Sons Inc, 2012.


Sign up to our newsletter to stay informed (on the top right).


Last modification 20.07.2018

Top of page

https://www.kmu.admin.ch/content/kmu/en/home/savoir-pratique/gestion-pme/marketing/outils-du-marketing/marketing-classique/brochures-et-lettres.html

Envoyer des brochures et des lettres efficaces

Probablement le moyen le plus rentable de faire du marketing, le mailing est vivement recommandé aux PME qui disposent d’un budget limité.

L'envoi de lettres par la poste est l'une des méthodes les plus efficaces et rentables en marketing. Si le budget d'une PME est limité, celle-ci devrait concentrer tous ses efforts sur l'envoi de lettres et ne pas publier d'annonces dans les journaux, à la télévision ou dans la rue.

Une lettre parfaite

Une lettre peut prendre la forme d'un courrier formel ou d'un simple flyer. Tout dépend de la nature de la compagnie et de la missive. Plus l'offre est importante, plus elle doit être formelle. Pour qu'un client lise et apprécie une lettre, elle doit contenir:

  • Une offre exceptionnelle. Des lettres publicitaires remplissent les boîtes aux lettres des consommateurs. Le client doit comprendre que la lettre de la PME est unique. Par exemple, un magasin qui vend des tondeuses à gazon peut offrir un rabais de 50% sur ces produits.
  • Une offre claire. Le client doit comprendre la nature de l'offre en l'espace de sept à neuf mots au maximum.
  • Un délai. L'offre doit être limitée dans le temps pour pousser le consommateur à en profiter tout de suite.
  • Une adresse personnalisée. Le nom du destinataire doit être inscrit sur la lettre. Les lettres s'adressant à "un fidèle client" ou à un "cher ami" ne leurrent pas les consommateurs et terminent à la poubelle sans être lues.
  • Une possibilité de réponse gratuite. Le client doit pouvoir bénéficier de l'offre sans avoir besoin d'affranchir une lettre ou composer un numéro de téléphone payant. Idéalement, la lettre devrait comprendre un talon-réponse avec son adresse pré-imprimée et une enveloppe affranchie adressée à l'entreprise. Pour minimiser ses frais de port, l'entrepreneur peut obtenir auprès de La Poste des rabais en cas de triage préalable.

Le succès d'un mailing dépend de la qualité du carnet d'adresses. Il est recommandé de créer une liste de contacts à qui envoyer des lettres ou des flyers. Une entreprise peut demander à ses clients de lui fournir leur adresse. Il est aussi possible de demander une liste d'adresses à une chambre de commerce, ou d'en acheter une à une agence de publicité ou à un courtier d'adresses. Ces derniers disposent de centaines de milliers d'adresses, qui peuvent être sélectionnées en fonction de son domaine d'activité et de sa localisation géographique.

Gérer les réponses

Une PME doit être capable de répondre rapidement aux clients intéressés par la promotion. L'entreprise doit absolument fournir le service ou l'article promis au client. Par le passé, le succès de certaines offres a forcé quelques sociétés à se rétracter. Cela a terni la réputation de ces entreprises.

Une brochure efficace

Une brochure permet de présenter son entreprise en un clin d'œil. Elle peut présenter la société dans son ensemble, un produit, un service ou une gamme d'articles en particulier et peut prendre la forme d'un petit livret ou d'un simple flyer. Les PME dont les clients n'utilisent pas le web ou ne lisent pas les journaux devraient recevoir une brochure.

Un bon prospectus comprend les éléments suivants:

  • Un titre et un sous-titre qui résument les activités de l'entreprise.
  • Des déclarations fortes et claires qui mettent en avant les atouts de la PME.
  • Des témoignages de clients qui soulignent la qualité des produits et des services de la société.
  • Des images qui illustrent le travail de la PME.
  • Un appel à agir qui parle au client. Le message doit pousser le consommateur à se procurer les services présentés dans le prospectus.

Si la PME dispose d'un employé avec des bases de graphisme, il est possible de créer une brochure artisanale. Néanmoins, si l'objectif est de créer un prospectus professionnel distribué à grande échelle, il est recommandé d’avoir recours aux services d'une agence de publicité ou à un graphiste.

Source: Small Business Marketing Kit For Dummies, Barbara Findlay Schenck, John Wiley & Sons Inc, 2012.


Abonnez-vous à notre newsletter gratuite pour rester constamment à la page (inscription en haut à droite).


Dernière modification 13.08.2015

Début de la page

https://www.kmu.admin.ch/content/kmu/fr/home/savoir-pratique/gestion-pme/marketing/outils-du-marketing/marketing-classique/brochures-et-lettres.html