What is public procurement?

Public procurement can be seen as a contract between an authority or a public undertaking and a private tenderer. Here is the process explained.

Public procurement occurs when a public authority or a company subject to public procurement law enters into a contract with a private tenderer concerning the acquisition of supplies, services or buildings, by means of financing.

Legal foundation

Public procurement has specific legal foundations in Switzerland. The establishment of public procurement law in Switzerland is the Agreement on Public Procurement (AMP-OMC), which contains the minimum rules in this area. Public procurement in the Confederation is then regulated more specifically by the Federal Act on Public Procurement (LMP) and the Ordinance on Public Procurement (OMP). The Inter-Cantonal Agreement for Public procurement (AIMP) offers a legal framework at the cantonal and communal level. This framework is then applied according to the corresponding cantonal laws on implementation.

Transparency

Public procurement law establishes the procedure for awarding tenders in a transparent way. It requires public authorities and the undertakings forming part of them to make public contracts and acquisitions in the public interest above a certain threshold. The OMP sets several rules concerning the procedures to be applied, notably depending on the type of contract and estimated amount.

Optimal use of public funds

This tendering process allows private companies to transparently access calls for tender issued by public authorities both at the communal and cantonal level as well as at the national level. It also provides public authorities with the ability to obtain the best offer in financial terms, which ensures optimal use of public funds.


Sign up to our newsletter to stay informed (on the top right).


Information

Last modification 20.07.2018

Top of page

https://www.kmu.admin.ch/content/kmu/en/home/savoir-pratique/gestion-pme/marches-publics/definition.html

Qu'est-ce qu'un marché public?

Un marché public peut être vu comme un contrat unissant une autorité ou une entreprise publique et un soumissionnaire privé. Explications.

On parle de marché public lorsqu'une autorité publique ou une entreprise assujettie au droit des marchés publics passe un contrat avec un soumissionnaire privé portant sur l'acquisition de fournitures, de services ou de constructions, moyennant un financement.

Bases juridiques

Les marchés publics disposent de bases juridiques précises en Suisse. Le fondement du droit des marchés publics en Suisse est l'Accord sur les marchés publics (AMP-OMC), qui contient les prescriptions minimales en la matière. Les marchés publics de la Confédération sont ensuite réglés plus précisément par la Loi fédérale sur les marchés publics (LMP) et l'Ordonnance sur les marchés publics (OMP). L'Accord intercantonal pour les marchés publics (AIMP) offre quant à lui un cadre juridique au niveau cantonal et communal. Ce cadre est ensuite mis en œuvre par les lois d'application cantonales correspondantes.

Transparence

Le droit des marchés publics établit de manière transparente la procédure d'adjudication des commandes. Il oblige les autorités publiques et les entreprises qui en dépendent à rendre publics les mandats et les acquisitions d'intérêt public dépassant un certain seuil. L'OMP fixe plusieurs règles concernant les procédures à appliquer, notamment selon le type de marché et le montant estimé.

Utilisation optimale des fonds publics

Cette mise au concours permet aux entreprises privées d'accéder de manière transparente aux appels d'offres des pouvoirs publics tant au niveau communal, cantonal que national. Elle fournit, en outre, la possibilité aux collectivités publiques d'obtenir l'offre la plus avantageuse d'un point de vue économique, ce qui assure une utilisation optimale des fonds publics.


Abonnez-vous à notre newsletter gratuite pour rester constamment à la page (inscription en haut à droite).


Informations

Dernière modification 13.08.2015

Début de la page

https://www.kmu.admin.ch/content/kmu/fr/home/savoir-pratique/gestion-pme/marches-publics/definition.html