Labeling and pricing: what is the system?

Close-up shot of a product label

From consumers requiring increasingly detailed information to constantly changing regulations, it is difficult to know what information should appear on a product and how it should be displayed. Here are the key labeling requirements in Switzerland.

Mr. Laufen is a baker from Muotathal (SZ). In response to requests from tourists wishing to buy souvenirs, he decides to create a selection of small taster sets. They are made up of a wooden board engraved with the name of the village, two pepper sausages and a small wrapped portion of cheese. They are adorned with a flag and the words “Swiss made”, as the products were supplied from companies in the canton.

After assembling the sets, Mr. Laufen naturally wishes to put a price sticker on his product. To make sure he knows what to do, he makes some inquiries. And, very soon, he finds himself caught up in an administrative vortex.

The cheese, in common with all prepackaged food, must contain information on the best-before date. Information on its nutritional value can also appear on the label. This requirement is governed by the order issued by the Federal Department of Home Affairs (FDHA) on the labeling and advertising of foodstuffs (OEDAl), which is currently being reviewed. The manufacturer is responsible for such matters; however, to make sure, Mr. Laufen contacts the Federal Food Safety and Veterinary Office (FSVO).

Whereas the wooden board is covered by the order relating to declarations on wood and wooden products, Mr. Laufen discovers that he needs to inform consumers of the source along with its commercial and scientific name, and the geographical area from which it originated. Information that he needs to request from the craftsman who produced the object.

The total weight, size and quantities of the assembly produced by the baker must be stated on the set label. The sausage comes with two metal clips, which somewhat complicates the process: namely, do they need to be included when calculating the weight of the object? These details are governed by the Federal Institute of Metrology and the order relating to declarations of quantities for bulk sales and prepackaging (ODqua).

The total price of the set is subject to compliance with the Price Indication Order (PIO). Whether it is mentioned on the final label or on a small display that the merchant has placed on his or her window, it must meet certain criteria.

Finally, the merchant discovers that the words "Swiss made" and the use of the flag are regulated. As explained by the Swiss Federal Institute of Intellectual Property (IPI), the use of the Swiss cross or the Swiss flag in connection with products or their packaging is prohibited, even for Swiss products. In fact, this breaches the Federal Act on the Protection of the Swiss Coat of Arms and Other Public Signs (LPAP). However, the use of the Swiss cross is permitted for decorative purposes, in connection with services, and on advertising media, provided that it is not misleading regarding the origin of the products or services. In addition, the designation "Swiss made" is an indication of source under the Federal Act on the Protection of Trade Marks and Indications of Source (Trade Mark Protection Act, TmPA) and can only be applied to a product if the essential manufacturing process takes place in Switzerland and the percentage of the work performed in Switzerland to produce the item represents at least 50% of the cost price. The current conditions are vague and difficult to implement. The Federal Parliament changed the rules in June 2013 and the new regulations took effect on January 1, 2017.

Overall, Mr. Laufen will have to deal with the main Swiss regulations pertaining to labeling. The specific features of the latter are detailed below.

1. Swiss labeling standards are specific to the Confederation; however, they are largely compatible with European and global developments in this area. This is due to globalization, the importance of reducing export and import barriers for Swiss companies, and the need for consumers to have understandable benchmarks, as well as providing a safety guarantee.

The energy efficiency requirements for many electrical appliances are adapted to the current state of the art and the new requirements laid down by the EU. In 2017, a new Globally Harmonized System of Classification and Labeling of Chemicals developed by the United Nations was introduced in Switzerland.

2. It is still important to point out that, with regard to the words ‘Swiss origin’, the rules stipulated by customs law differ partially from those set out in the law on indications of source. Goods designated as Swiss under customs law shall not necessarily be subject to the new law on indications of source; exporting companies should heed this difference.

3. A certain number of private and semi-public labels are managed by independent bodies. The Federal Consumer Affairs Bureau has produced a list of all labels currently used in Switzerland. This document establishes a difference between verification and conformity labels, ecological and environmental labels, corporate labels, quality labels, regional labels and origin labels.

4. The rules applicable to the labeling of products and goods depend, as we have seen, on various regulations and are the responsibility of specific federal offices. The five themed articles above on the left provide useful information and links to the websites of the offices concerned.


Information 

Last modification 27.09.2019

Top of page

https://www.kmu.admin.ch/content/kmu/en/home/savoir-pratique/gestion-pme/etiquetage.html

Etiquettes, labels, prix: comment faire?

Gros plan d'une étiquette d'un produit

Entre les consommateurs qui exigent de plus en plus d’informations et les réglementations qui évoluent régulièrement, difficile de savoir quelles indications faire figurer sur un produit et de quelle manière. Présentation des éléments-clés de l’étiquetage en Suisse.

M. Laufen est boulanger à Muotathal (SZ). Pour répondre à la demande des touristes souhaitant acheter des souvenirs, il a eu l’idée de réaliser des petits assortiments. Ils se composent d’une planche de bois gravée au nom du village, de deux saucissons au poivre, d’un petit fromage emballé. Il agrémente le tout d’un drapeau et de l’indication "Swiss made", puisque ce sont des entreprises du canton qui lui ont fourni ces produits.

Une fois le lot composé, M. Laufen aimerait logiquement l’agrémenter d’une étiquette comportant un prix. Pour être sûr de ce qu’il faut y faire figurer, il entame quelques recherches. Et se retrouve rapidement pris dans un tourbillon administratif.

Le fromage, comme tout aliment préemballé doit comporter des informations sur sa date limite d’utilisation optimale. Il est possible de faire figurer également des indications sur sa valeur nutritive. Une exigence qui est régie par l’ordonnance du Département fédéral de l’intérieur (DFI) sur l’étiquetage et la publicité des denrées alimentaires (OEDAl), actuellement en révision. C’est au fabricant que cette responsabilité incombe, mais pour s’en assurer M. Laufen contacte l’Office fédéral de la sécurité alimentaire et des affaires vétérinaires (OSAV).

La planchette en bois, elle, relève de l’ordonnance sur la déclaration concernant le bois et les produits en bois. M. Laufen découvre qu’il est impératif de signaler au consommateur l’essence utilisée sous son nom commercial et son nom scientifique ainsi que sa zone géographique de provenance. Une information qu’il doit donc demander à l’artisan qui a réalisé l’objet.

Le poids, la dimension et les quantités totales de l’assemblage réalisé par le boulanger doivent figurer sur l’étiquette du lot. Le saucisson comporte deux boucles en métal, ce qui complique un peu le processus: ces dernières doivent-elles être prises en compte dans le calcul du poids de l’objet? Ces précisions relèvent de l’Institut fédéral de métrologie, et de l’ordonnance sur les déclarations de quantité dans la vente en vrac et sur les préemballages (ODqua).

Le prix total du lot est soumis au respect de l’ordonnance sur l’indication des prix (OIP). Qu’il soit mentionné sur l’étiquette finale ou sur l’a petite affichette que le commerçant a placardée sur sa vitrine, il doit respecter certains critères.

Enfin, le commerçant découvre que la dénomination "Swiss made" et l’utilisation du drapeau sont réglementées. Comme l’explique l’Institut fédéral de la propriété intellectuelle (IPI), l’emploi de la croix suisse ou du drapeau suisse en lien avec des produits ou leur emballage est interdit, même pour des produits suisses. Cela contrevient en effet à la loi fédérale pour la protection des armoiries publiques et autres signes publics (LPAP). En revanche, l’usage de la croix suisse est admis à des fins décoratives, en lien avec des services, ainsi que sur des supports publicitaires, pour autant qu’il n’induise pas en erreur sur la provenance des produits ou des services. De plus, la désignation "Swiss made" constitue une indication de provenance selon la loi fédérale sur les marques et les indications de provenance (LPM) et ne peut s’appliquer à un produit que si le processus essentiel de fabrication a lieu en Suisse et que la quote-part du travail effectué en Suisse pour produire ce bien représente au minimum 50 % du prix de revient. Les conditions actuelles sont vagues et difficiles à mettre en œuvre. Une modification de ces règles a été adoptée par le Parlement fédéral en juin 2013, et la nouvelle règlementation entrera en vigueur le 1er janvier 2017.

Au final, M. Laufen aura touché aux principales réglementations suisses en matière d’étiquetage. Cette dernière comporte quelques spécificités à connaître.

1. Les normes suisses en matière d’étiquetage sont propres à la Confédération, mais en grande partie compatibles et en lien avec les évolutions européennes et mondiales dans le domaine. Cela s’explique par la mondialisation, l’importance de réduire les obstacles à l’exportation et à l’importation pour les entreprises suisses, et la nécessité pour les consommateurs de bénéficier de repères compréhensibles, gage de sécurité.

Les prescriptions d'efficacité énergétique pour de nombreux appareils électriques sont par exemple adaptées à l'état actuel de la technique et aux nouvelles prescriptions édictées par l'UE. Un nouveau système général harmonisé de classification et d'étiquetage des produits chimiques développé par les Nations unies sera par ailleurs introduit en Suisse d'ici 2017.

2. Il est encore important de souligner qu’en ce qui concerne l’indication de l’origine suisse, les règles du droit douanier diffèrent en partie de celles du droit des indications de provenance. Une marchandise désignée comme suisse en vertu du droit douanier, ne le sera pas forcément en vertu du nouveau droit des indications de provenance les entreprises exportatrices doivent être attentives à cette différence.

3. Un certain nombre de labels privés et semi-publics sont gérés par des organes indépendants. Le Bureau fédéral de la consommation a rédigé une liste de tous les labels actuellement utilisés en Suisse. Ce document distingue les labels de vérification ou de conformité́, les labels écologiques ou environnementaux, les labels sociaux, les labels de qualité́, les labels régionaux ou d’origine.

4. Les règles relatives à l’étiquetage des produits et marchandises dépendent, comme nous l’avons vu, de différentes réglementations et sont sous la responsabilité d’offices fédéraux spécifiques. Vous trouverez, dans les cinq articles thématiques en haut, à gauche, des informations utiles et des liens vers les sites Internet des offices concernés.

Dernière modification 10.10.2019

Début de la page

https://www.kmu.admin.ch/content/kmu/fr/home/savoir-pratique/gestion-pme/etiquetage.html