The importance of high-quality service

Companies that know how to nurture their customers have more success than those who just sell them a good product. Here is how you go about it.

Customer service includes a whole range of measures – often intangible – which improve customer satisfaction and make customers want to come back. These measures have to do with the way the product is delivered. Customers often choose the services of an SME precisely because they know the customer service will be better.

A pleasant environment

Do customers have access to customer parking? Is the entrance to the store or business marked clearly and in a welcoming way? Do they get a coffee when they come in? Is the waiting room or reception area clean and well-lit? Have you thought about an activity to occupy their children or other people with them? Companies who pay attention to these details will put customers at ease and customers will have a good first impression of the products or services they are about to be offered.

Speed of service

Ideally, customers should have initial contact with a company employee within 90 seconds of their arrival. After two minutes, this is a failure. On the internet, if the page does not come up, customers do not wait for more than a few seconds before moving to another website. On the phone, you should avoid long menus of options and placing customers on hold, always giving them the option of speaking to an operator. If the company has an answering machine, it needs to make sure that it will call the customer back “on the same day” or “within four hours”. An excessively long wait is perceived as a sign of indifference.

Say it with a smile

Consumers should get the impression that you are interested in them and that you are trying to solve their problem or to find them what they are looking for. To achieve this, they should be dealing with friendly, smiling staff. You can provide your employees with a certain number of instructions, such as SHGT (smile, hello, goodbye, thank you).

The little extras

A customer who is greeted by name, who is spontaneously offered his or her favorite table at a restaurant, whose voice is recognized on the phone or who has an item put aside while he or she decides, will have the feeling of being made welcome.

After-sales service

Good service does not stop with completion of the purchase. If customers are dissatisfied, they should be able to exchange the item or get a refund--without wasting time or spending money. Apple applies this principle very well: when there is a problem with a device, the company takes it back immediately (even if this means coming to collect it for customers who have AppleCare insurance) and repairs or exchanges it within a few days.

Going the extra mile

An entrepreneur wishing to improve quality of service can send his or her customers a questionnaire. But make sure you do not contact them this way too often, as it could irritate them or convey an unprofessional image. Here are the questions to ask them:

  • Are our staff polite when they serve you?
  • Do you get the impression you are taken seriously?
  • How do you assess the service you receive over the phone?
  • And on the internet?
  • Are your complaints settled quickly and politely?
  • How could we improve our service?

Sources: Small Business Marketing Kit For Dummies, Barbara Findlay Schenck, John Wiley & Sons Inc, 2012; Purple Cow: Transform Your Business by Being Remarkable, Seth Godin, Penguin Group.


Sign up to our newsletter to stay informed (on the top right).


Information

Last modification 07.08.2018

Top of page

https://www.kmu.admin.ch/content/kmu/en/home/savoir-pratique/gestion-pme/marketing/soigner-ses-clients/importance-du-service.html

L'importance d'un service de qualité

Les firmes qui savent choyer leurs clients ont plus de succès que celles qui se contentent de leur vendre un bon produit. Voici comment s'y prendre.

Le service à la clientèle comprend un ensemble de mesures - souvent intangibles - qui améliorent la satisfaction des clients et leur donnent envie de revenir. Elles ont trait à la façon dont le produit est délivré. Souvent, les clients choisissent de recourir aux services d'une PME précisément car ils savent que le service à la clientèle sera meilleur.

Un environnement agréable

Les clients ont-ils accès à des places de parking réservées pour eux? L'entrée du commerce ou de l'entreprise est-elle indiquée de façon claire et accueillante? Reçoivent-ils un café à leur arrivée? La salle d'attente et la zone de la réception sont-elles propres et bien éclairées? A-t-on pensé à fournir une activité pour occuper leurs enfants ou les autres personnes qui les accompagnent? Les entreprises qui prendront garde à ces éléments mettront le client à l'aise et ce dernier en retirera un a priori favorable au sujet de l'offre que l’on s'apprête à lui proposer.

La rapidité du service

Idéalement, le client devrait avoir eu un premier contact avec un collaborateur de l’entreprise dans les 90 secondes après son arrivée. Au-delà de deux minutes, il s'agit d'un échec. Sur internet, il ne patiente pas plus de quelques secondes si la page ne s’affiche pas, avant de passer à un autre site. Par téléphone, il faut éviter les longs catalogues d'options, les mises en attente et toujours donner la possibilité de parler à un opérateur. Si l’entreprise dispose d’un répondeur, il faut garantir que l'on rappellera "dans la journée" ou "dans les 4 heures". Une trop longue attente est perçue comme un signe d'indifférence.

Avec le sourire

Le consommateur doit avoir l'impression que l’on s'intéresse à lui et que l’on cherche à résoudre son problème ou à lui trouver ce qu'il cherche. Pour cela, il doit avoir affaire à un personnel aimable et souriant. On peut fournir un certain nombre de passages obligés à ses employés, à l'image du SBAM (sourire, bonjour, au revoir, merci).

Les petits plus

Le client qui se fait accueillir par son nom, qui se fait spontanément offrir sa table préférée au restaurant, dont on reconnaît la voix au téléphone ou à qui on propose de mettre de côté un bien le temps qu'il se décide aura la sensation d'être le bienvenu.

Le service après-vente

Un bon service ne s'arrête pas avec la conclusion de l'achat. Si le client est insatisfait, il doit pouvoir échanger le bien ou obtenir un remboursement. Et cela sans perdre de temps ni débourser d’argent. Apple applique ce principe avec diligence: lorsqu'un appareil présente un problème, la firme le reprend immédiatement (quitte à venir le chercher à domicile pour les clients qui disposent de l’assurance AppleCare) et le répare ou l'échange en l'espace de quelques jours.

Pour aller plus loin

L'entrepreneur qui souhaite améliorer la qualité de son service peut envoyer un questionnaire à ses clients. Attention toutefois à ne pas les solliciter trop souvent: cela risque de les irriter et de renvoyer une image d'amateur. Voici les questions à leur poser:

  • Notre personnel vous sert-il avec amabilité?
  • Avez-vous l'impression d'être pris au sérieux?
  • Comment jugez-vous le service par téléphone?
  • Et par internet?
  • Vos réclamations sont-elles réglées rapidement et avec amabilité?
  • Comment pourrions-nous améliorer notre service?

Sources: Small Business Marketing Kit For Dummies, Barbara Findlay Schenck, John Wiley & Sons Inc, 2012; Purple Cow: Transform Your Business by Being Remarkable, Seth Godin, Penguin Group.


Abonnez-vous à notre newsletter gratuite pour rester constamment à la page (inscription en haut à droite).


Informations

Dernière modification 02.01.2016

Début de la page

https://www.kmu.admin.ch/content/kmu/fr/home/savoir-pratique/gestion-pme/marketing/soigner-ses-clients/importance-du-service.html